On Saturday 11 February 2017, Egerton University hosted the fourth edition of the Mau- Egerton University Cross Country. In the event, Bernard Kipkemoi and Caroline Chepkoech won the senior men and senior women race categories respectively. They each bagged prize money of Ksh. 50,000. In second position in the senior men category was Peter Kipkemei, who was followed by Elvis Kipkoech. Isaac Kipkoech retained his fourth position, while Charles Kimeli finished fifth. In the senior women's category, Risper Chebet was second ahead of Faith Chepkoech, Caroline Kilel, Vicathy Chepkemoi and Joan Ayabei. In the eight kilometre junior men category, Andrew Lorot edged out Kipngetich to win the race, while Amos Kirui came in third. In the Junior women category, Eva Cherono, Deborah Cherono and Gladys Koech were positions one, two and three respectively.

The Cross Country, dubbed “Run for Mau,” also saw participants from Egerton University. In the one kilometre University Management Board/University Council category, the Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research & Extension, Prof. Alfred Kibor, was position one. The top six finishers in each race category received cash prize awards from the University Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Rose A. Mwonya.

The objective of the Cross Country is to create environmental awareness and raise funds for the rehabilitation of the Mau ecosystem and Njoro River, which is a flagship project of the University. The Cross Country was organised by Egerton University in partnership with Athletics Kenya. It was also sponsored by corporate institutions, which included the Kenya Commercial Bank, APA Insurance, and the Cooperative Bank of Kenya.


Copyright © 2024 Egerton University. Managed by DMRM
"Transforming Lives through Quality Education"